· 

Capacitive Sensor Coding

After a long coding session me and my helping hand made the capacitive sensor "working". With working I mean, that it worked this day under these precise conditions. Even though the values showed big differences when my friend touched the sensor and when I touched it. Just because of our different capacities. I can just hope that people in the exhibition also have about the same capacity and the sensor works with everyone ;)

The Arduino IDE snapshots show part of the code and on the left side you can see sensor values when the sensor is touched and then in the second the rising values as it is being touched.

About the wiring:

The controller is an Attiny85. You can see it on the red attiny programmer. The Attiny85 has NO serial monitor (shows all the readings e.g. of the sensor). So you need to connect the Tiny to a Arduino and include the Serial library in the coding. The Tiny then is hooked up to the soundboard (vdd, gnd, sound pin).

I recorded sounds in a sound studio and then mixed the sound with the music program Ablton. Then I converted the wav files (what you get from Ablton) to ogg files. They were much smaller and since my soundboard only has 2MB I need them as small as possible.

Then funny things happened like: the soundboard suddenly showed only 54Kb free storage even there is nothing saved and it took an hour to solve the problem, e.g. flash the soundboard with a new configuration.

This try-out was concentrating on case "Wall1" where I got three sensors to touch. So I need three pins on the soundboard. I used pin0 with one sound, pin1 with three sound files which will be played in random order when the sensor is touched and pin2 same like pin1 but with three different sounds.

See the video here. On the screen you can see the values in the Serial Print changing.